The Bayelsa State Government has inaugurated four sub-committees to implement the State Employment and Expenditure for Results (SEEFOR) project in the state.

The sub-committees are, the Public Financial Management, Youth Employment and Public Works, Technical and Vocational Training as well as Community-driven Development sub-committees.

Inaugurating the committees in Government House Yenagoa, the state Deputy GOVERNOR, Rear Admiral Gboribiogha John Jonah, who stood in for Governor Seriake Dickson explained that the various sub-committees are to handle different components of the SEEFOR project to ensure its success in the state.

To ensure synergy, the Deputy Governor said members of the committees were drawn from relevant ministries, departments and agencies (MDAs) to implement the project with a view to avoiding duplication.

According to him, “the SEEFOR will not create parallel structures but work with existing structures in the state, which means MDAs of Government will implement the project while the SEEFOR project will co-ordinate the units.

“What we are trying to do, like they do in other states up North, is that when we are sure that these funds would come, it becomes part of our budget, so we know the areas that we can intervene to avoid duplication of efforts as we go down the line.”

Retired Rear Admiral John Jonah noted that counterpart projects such as SEEFOR will avail Government the opportunity to collaborate effectively to improve the quality of life of the people.

He said Government has already made payments up to the tune of 300 million Naira out of which 53million Naira was paid for FADAMA 3 project as well as 100 million for community and social development agencies.

The Deputy Governor, who charged the various sub-committees to exhibit a high level of diligence and transparency in the performance of their tasks, said “there is no excuse for failure as government is willing to support them”.

Mr. Thomas Zidafamor is the chairman of the Public Financial Management Sub-Committee while Mr. Durban Whyte heads the Technical and Vocational Training Sub-committee.

Others are, Mrs. Philomena Aladei who chairs the Youth Employment and Public Works while Mr. Oboro Oyintonyo is the chairman of the community-driven development sub-committee.

Responding on behalf of the Chairmen and members of the newly inaugurated sub-committees, the chairman of the Technical and Vocational Training Sub-Committee, Mr. Durban Whyte expressed gratitude for the opportunity given them to serve and pledged to work hard to meet the expectations of government.
 Daniel Iworiso-Markson
Chief Press Secretary to the Governor of Bayelsa State


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s